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CONNECTICUT VALLEY HOSPITAL 

OPERATIONAL PROCEDURE MANUAL 
 

SECTION II: ORGANIZATION FOCUSED FUNCTIONS 

CHAPTER 8: Management of Human Resources 

PROCEDURE 8.1: Benefits 

REVISED: 10/15/99, 02/26/09, 01/12/15; 05/15/18 

Governing Body Approval: 02/19/15; 07/02/18(electronic vote) 

 
PURPOSE:     To enumerate the numerous benefits for which Connecticut Valley Hospital 

(CVH) employees are eligible and for which CORE-CT Unit – New Employee Orientation 

Program takes responsibility for orienting new employees and providing answers to questions 

regarding benefit coverage. 
 

SCOPE:   All CVH staff 

 

PROCEDURE: 

 

1.  Medical and Dental Insurance Options 
 

The State of Connecticut State Comptrollers website provides a list of medical and dental 

insurance options that all new employees may choose from during the New Employee 

Orientation Program. New employees are provided with a summary of the insurance 

options, the cost, and the benefits of each plan.  The website address is:  

http://www.osc.ct.gov/benefits.htm.  

 

2.  Heath Enhancement Program 

 

This program is designed to enhance the ability of employees with their doctors to make 

the most informed decisions about staying healthy, and, if you have one of the five listed 

conditions in the 2011 SEBAC Agreement (which are: Diabetes, Chronic Obtrusive 

Pulmonary Disorder or Asthma, Hypertension, Hyperlipidemia (high cholesterol), or 

Coronary Artery Disease (heart disease/heart failure)), to treat their illness. As is 

currently the case under the State Health Plan, any medical decisions will continue to be 

made by the employee and his or her physician. 

 

If election to participate in the Health Enhancement Program is made and you or any 

covered dependents do not remain compliant with the terms of the program, your 

participation may be revoked.  Revocation will make you responsible for higher premium 

co-shares of $100 per month, a $350 deductible per participant per year, and would make 

you ineligible for reductions in the co-pays for certain prescriptions and office visits. 
 

If an employee wishes to change providers or add dependents to his/her coverage, there is 

a one month open enrollment period, annually, for this purpose (usually during the Month 

of May for July 1 effective coverage date).  This is the only time an employee may 

change his/her coverage or add dependents.  The exceptions to this rule are the following: 

 

http://www.osc.ct.gov/benefits.htm
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 Marriage/Divorce/Legal Separation 

 Birth/Adoption of a child 

 Spouse's loss or gain of employment* 

      *subject to insurance provider's approval 
 

The insurance provider will only accept these types of changes if reported within a timely 

manner (within one month of date of event). 

 

Failure of an employee to timely notify their Human Resource Department and the DMHAS 

Payroll Department, Benefits Unit, could lead to progressive discipline up to and including 

dismissal from state service being taken against them.  

 

Coverage for health and dental insurance is effective the first of the month following the date of 

hire. 

 

1. Group Life Insurance 
 

Section 5-257(a) of the Connecticut General Statutes provides that Group Life Insurance 

is to be available to permanent employees, full time or part time, classified or 

unclassified, who have completed six months continuous state service.  Coverage shall 

begin on the day following the date on which six (6) months of continuous service is 

completed.  No physical examination is required if the employee opts for the coverage at 

the time of initial employment.  New employees are provided a copy of the Group Life 

Insurance booklet and application and waiver cards.  Each employee has the option of 

waiving the coverage at the time of their initial employment.  An employee does have the 

option of applying for group life insurance coverage at a later date, will be subject to a 

meeting evidence of insurability guidelines. 
 

2. Disability Insurance 
 

The State of Connecticut has a contracted vendor to provide disability insurance to State 

employees.  The CORE-CT Unit - New Employee Orientation Program Team will 

distribute information regarding the disability insurance to all new employees.  

Employees will contact the insurance company individually for more information.  

Payroll deductions will be made for premiums for the disability insurance. 
 

3. Direct Deposit 
 

Employees may elect to have their paycheck directly deposited to their personal savings 

or checking accounts.  The CORE-CT Unit New Employee Orientation Program Team is 

responsible for providing new employees with information regarding direct deposit.  In 

order to initiate this process, an employee must complete a Form CO-1040, Direct 

Deposit Authorization and Input Form.  The employees must contact their financial 

institution to get the routing transit number.  The CORE-CT Unit New Employee 

Orientation Program Team will scan the form for completeness and forward it to the 

Payroll Office for processing. 
 

4. Credit Union 
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All employees are eligible to become members of the Connecticut State Employees 

Credit Union.  The CORE-CT Unit New Employee Orientation Program Team provides 

information to all new employees regarding the Connecticut State Employees Credit 

Union.  Employees may elect to have some or all of their paycheck deposited into various 

accounts at the Credit Union.  Applications to apply for membership are available at the 

CT State Employees Credit Union.  It is the responsibility of the employee to forward the 

application directly to the Credit Union. 
 

5. Deferred Compensation Program 

 

Section 5-264a(c) of the Connecticut General Statutes provides for the administration of 

the State's Deferred Compensation Plan by the Office of the State Comptroller.  The 

CORE-CT Unit New Employee Orientation Program Team provides information 

regarding the Deferred Compensation Program. Contributions are withheld from 

employees' paychecks before taxes are assessed. 
 

6. Retirement 
 

All State of Connecticut employees are enrolled into one of several retirement plans.  The 

conditions and benefits vary; but, in almost all plans, a requirement of ten (10) years of 

service for vestment exists. 
 

A. Retirement Plans 
 

The CVH employees are enrolled in one of the following retirement plans. 
 

1. Tier I 
 

This is a contributory retirement plan where the employee elects to 

contribute either 2% (Plan B) or 5% (Plan C).  Those in a designated 

hazardous duty position must contribute 4%.  Employees hired before 

January 1, 1984, had the option of choosing the Tier I retirement plan.  All 

new hires after this date were automatically placed in the Tier II retirement 

plan. However, pursuant to the provisions of the SEBAC 2017 Agreement, 

retirement contribution rates for SERS members of Tier I were increased 

by 1.5% (to either 3.5%  Plan B or 6.5% - Plan C; to 5.5% hazardous duty) 

of salary effective July 1, 2017 and by a further 0.5% (to either 4% - Plan 

B or 7%  Plan C; 6% hazardous duty) effective July 1, 2019.  
 

2. Tier II 
 

This is was a non-contributory retirement plan.  There were no deductions 

taken from employees' pay toward this plan unless the employees are in a 

designated hazardous duty position.  For employees in a designated 

hazardous duty position, 4% shall be paid.  However, pursuant to the 

provisions of the SEBAC 2017 Agreement, retirement contribution rates 

for SERS members of Tier II were set at 1.5% (to 5.5% hazardous duty) of 

salary effective July 1, 2017 and by a further 0.5% (to 6% hazardous duty) 

effective July 1, 2019. 

 



 

Page 4 of 7 

3. Tier IIA 
 

This is a contributory retirement plan.  Employees hired on July 1, 1997 or 

through June 30, 2011, shall be placed in Tier IIA.  For hazardous duty 

members, the employee contribution shall be 5% of the employee's salary 

and for non-hazardous duty members, the contribution shall be 2% of 

salary. However, pursuant to the provisions of the SEBAC 2017 

Agreement, retirement contribution rates for SERS members of Tier IIA 

were increased by 1.5% (to 3.5% or 6.5% hazardous duty) of salary 

effective July 1, 2017 and by a further 0.5% (to 4% or 7% hazardous duty) 

effective July 1, 2019. 

 

4.  Tier III 

 

This is a contributory retirement plan.  Employees hired on or after July 1, 

2011, shall be placed in Tier III.  For hazardous duty members, the 

employee contribution shall be 5% of the employee's salary and for non-

hazardous duty members, the contribution shall be 2% of salary. However, 

pursuant to the provisions of the SEBAC 2017 Agreement, retirement 

contribution rates for SERS members of Tier III were increased by 1.5% 

(to 3.5% or 6.5% hazardous duty) of salary effective July 1, 2017 and by a 

further 0.5% (to 4% or 7% hazardous duty) effective July 1, 2019. 

 

5. Tier IV  

 

This new retirement tier was established as a result of the SEBAC 2017 

Agreement and is a contributory retirement plan. Employees hired on or 

after July 1, 2017 shall be placed in Tier IV. SERS (State Employee 

Retirement System) types (normal, Hazardous Duty, and Hybird) shall pay 

3% more than Tier III employees in their respective programs. 

 

6. Alternate Retirement Program (ARP):  A Defined Contribution Plan 
 

This plan is only available to unclassified employees in the higher 

education system and to the central office staff of the higher education 

department.  The ARP is a defined contribution or money purchase plan. 
 

It is the responsibility of The CORE-CT Unit New Employee Orientation Program Team 

to provide new employees with information regarding the appropriate retirement plan.  

Additional information related to all retirement plans is available on the State of 

Connecticut State Comptroller’s website at www.osc.ct.gov.   
 

B. Retirement Credit Purchase 
 

Employees returning to State service after a separation may elect to purchase 

retirement credit for prior service for which the member received a refund of their 

contributions.  A restoration of credit can be made if the employee's prior state 

service is longer than the period of separation or he/she was out of State service 

for less than five years. 
 

http://www.osc.ct.gov/
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1. The rehired employee must complete the appropriate form: Form CO-896 

(Retirement Credit Purchase Request - Tier I); CO-989 Reemployed Tier 

II Hazardous Duty Members Only; Form CO-1089 Retirement Credit 

Restoration Request - Reemployed Tier IIA Members Only; CO-992 

Retirement Credit Restoration Request - Reemployed Tier III Members 

Only.  
 

2. DMHAS Retirement Unit reviews the form for accuracy and forwards the 

form to the DMHAS Payroll Department for additional information. 
 

3. DMHAS Payroll Department forwards the form to the Office of the State 

Comptroller's Retirement Services Division. 
 

C. Retirement Application 
 

When an employee reaches the time he/she wishes to retire, it is the Human 

Resource Department’s responsibility to initiate and prepare the Retirement 

Scheduling Form.  The Retirement Scheduling Form must be submitted to the 

DMHAS Retirement Unit before the date of retirement.  Employees are 

encouraged to make an appointment with the Retirement Counseling Unit at the 

Retirement Services Division located in Hartford, CT to receive information 

detailing their personal retirement.  Employees are also expected to notify their 

Facility Human Resource Office at least two months prior to their expected 

retirement date. 
 

1. The following forms will be completed and processed for each retirement 

by the DMHAS Retirement Unit: 
 

a. CO-898 - Application for Retirement Benefits (to be completed in 

conjunction with the Payroll Office) 

b. CO-744 - Choice of Health Services after Retirement 

c. CO-1047 - Spouse Waiver of Monthly Survival Benefits 

d. CT-W4P - State of Connecticut Tax Form (if desired) 

e. W-4P - Federal Tax Form 

f. CO-1068 - Retirement Direct Deposit Authorization and Input 

Form 
 

One of the following income payment options form: 

g. CO-902 - Option  D - Retiree Lifetime Only 

h. CO-899 - Option A – 50% Spouse  

i. CO-900 - Option B – 50% or 100% Contingent Annuitant  

j. CO-901 - Option C – 10 or 20 Year Period Certain 
      

Employees who are disabled from performing the duties of his/her position can 

opt to apply for service or non-service connected disability retirement.  If the 

employee is applying for a disability retirement, Form CO-649 - Disability 

Retirement Application Medical Report must be completed by his/her physician 

and processed.  Additionally, all pertinent medical documentation must be 

forwarded to the Retirement Services Division located in Hartford, CT. 
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For all retirements, the employee must provide a copy of his/her birth certificate, 

and, if applicable, their marriage certificate.  If the employee chooses an option 

which provides for someone after his/her death, a copy of that person's birth 

certificate is required.  If the employee and spouse (if added to health insurance 

coverage) are eligible for Medicare, copies of the Medicare cards for both the 

employee and his/her spouse are required. 
 

7. Time Away From Work 
 

A. Sick Leave 
 

Sick Leave begins to be credited to employees at the end of the first calendar 

month of employee.  It accrues at the rate of 1.25 days per month for full time 

employees.  There is no maximum accrual.  For part-time employees, the accrual 

rate shall be prorated based on the number of hours worked. 
 

B. Vacation Leave 
 

Vacation Leave, with pay, shall be granted to each full time employee in a 

permanent position in State service following six months of continuous 

employment.  Part-time employees accrue vacation time on a prorated basis 

equivalent to the number of hours worked.  The accruals begin at the end of the 

first calendar month of employment but shall not be granted until six months of 

continuous service.  The rate of accruals vary.  Each full time permanent 

employee may accumulate vacation days with pay up to a maximum of sixty (60) 

vacation days or the equivalent of for part time employees or as directed by any 

applicable collective bargaining contract. 
 

 C.       Personal Leave 
 

Each full time, permanent employee is entitled to three days of Personal Leave 

with pay each calendar year.  Some permanent, part time employees receive pro 

rata personal leave days based on the amount of time worked.  Personal Leave 

days not taken in a calendar year shall not be accumulated or paid out. 
 

D. Holiday 
 

State employees who work full time are granted time off with pay for twelve (12) 

legal holidays:  New Year's Day, Martin Luther King Day, Lincoln's Birthday, 

Washington's Birthday, Good Friday, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor 

Day, Columbus Day, Veteran's Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day. 
 

It is the responsibility of Facility Human Resource Office to inform new 

employees of the eligibility of time off. 

 

8. Longevity Payments 
 

No employee first hired on or after July 1, 2011 shall be entitled to a longevity payment; 

provided, however, any employee hired on or after July 1, 2011 who shall have military 

service which would count toward longevity under rules in place prior to SEBAC 2011 

shall be entitled to longevity if they obtain the requisite service in the future.  Employees 
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who have completed the equivalent of ten (10) years of State service receive semiannual 

lump sum longevity payments based on service completed as of April 1 and October 1 of 

each year.  (For most bargaining unit employees hired after July 1, 1977, this service 

must be continuous state service.)  Lump sum payments are based on the employee's 

current salary grade and number of years of State service.  It is the responsibility of 

Facility Human Resource Department to inform employees of longevity payments. 
 

9. Automobile and Home Owner's Insurance 
 

Employees may purchase automobile and home owner's insurance by payroll deductions.  

The employee pays the full cost. 
 

10. Dependent Care Assistance Program 
 

The State of Connecticut has implemented a Dependent Care Assistance Program for all 

full time or permanent part time employees.  The program allows employees to pay for 

dependent care expenses with wages that will not be subject to Federal or State income 

taxes or FICA taxes.  The employee can be reimbursed from his/her contributions to this 

account for actual dependent care expenses.  Employees can opt to participate in this 

program during the open enrollment period once a year. 
 

 

11. State of Connecticut Employee Long Term Disability Program 
 

Long term disability insurance is offered by contracted vendors to State Employees.  The 

premiums are payroll deducted.  Employees can elect this coverage during the open 

enrollment period once a year.  The CORE-CT Unit New Employee Orientation Program 

Team provides information regarding this program to new State employees. 
 

12. State of Connecticut Long Term Care Insurance Program 
 

Employees of the State of Connecticut, working twenty (20) hours per week or more, and 

who have been an employee of the State for at least six (6) months, may enroll in the 

Long Term Care Insurance Program.  The Long Term Care Insurance Program is offered 

to State employees, retirees, and their families via a contracted vendor.  Employees can 

pay the premiums, and those of family members, through payroll deductions. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


